An Actor’s cover letter

Standard

Hello, my name is Mieko Gavia, I’m 24, and I’d absolutely love the opportunity to work with you!

Here’s a little bit about me:

I am a recent Honors graduate of Theater with over 12 years of acting experience.  I was trained in the Stanislavsky method at Oberlin College, and am familiar with classical, modern, musical, and contemporary comedy and drama, as well as spoken word.  I have taken classes in modern dance, bellydance, and blues dance, and continue to expand my repertoire whenever possible.  I have also spent 4 years as a counselor/teaching assistant at The MAD* Factory, a not-for-profit Theater camp for low-income and at-risk children.  I have also art modeled (bodypainting) for Mo Beasley’s UrbanErotika, for international artist Sangram Majumdar, and for the Brooklyn Nude Figure Drawing group at Bunnycutlet gallery in Williamsburg.

What began as a shy girl’s way of learning to speak without fear developed into a full-fledged love of Theater and the Performing Arts.  I am in love with words- either spoken, sung, written, or interpreted through movement.  Recently, I’ve managed to combine my love of acting with my love of literature, and have written several comedic and dramatic stage plays in addition to my other writing pursuits.  

To see a bit of my combined loves, please visit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWC5HC_6NLY : a taping of my honors project “Dog” -which I wrote, starred in, and helped produce- or contact me for the entire recording over Gmail.  I also have a youtube commercial that premiered Valentines day, which you can find here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EaH9RgwVEkc

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.  Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,

Mieko Azaria Gavia

Leave a Reply

