NaPoWriMo: A poem-a-day starts NOW with “Agley”

Standard

Okay, so technically it started April 1st, but I just found out about it from one of my favorite poets, Lorna Dee Cervantes.  I’ll catch up, I promise.

NaPoWriMo is national poetry writing month.  It’s kind of like NaNoWriMo (for novels), but instead of a specific word count for 30 days, you write a poem per day.  Anyone can get started, and you can even submit your site (if you have one) to their national registry.  I just signed up!

I also signed up on this site called oneword.com, which gives you a one-word writing prompt and 60 seconds to write.   Today’s poem is based on my response to the prompt.

But let’s not waste any time, shall we?  Today’s word was: plans

Agley

I make my plans
like mice in traps they catch and bleed
bruised fingers, bruised egos
I suck them whole again
then pick myself back
together for tomorrow but

i didn’t plan you


-for K

So what are y’all waiting for?  Get out there and write!  Then let me know, and I’ll link you on my site 🙂

Leave a Reply

