My life’s work- hopefully

Standard

I thought I wasn’t going to post for a while since my life hasn’t exactly been interesting.  But just this week interesting has come a-knocking.

First off, my play is was progressing smoothly.  I’m just at the climax, but I’ve hit a wall (I took a day off and then my rhythm was off), so it’s tough to get back into it.  I’ve given myself till Sunday to finish the first draft, and till the end of July to get it to my many editors.

Secondly, Hanako, Mom, Dad, and I went down to Fort Wayne to participate in Storycorps yesterday.  For those of you who don’t know, Storycorps archives conversations between families, friends, and community members- basically, you interview someone about some part of their life, and one copy goes to you, one goes to NPR, and one goes to Library of Congress and whatever other group you decide to send it to (eg. my family’s story goes to the Smithsonian for project Griot for Af.am archival, as well as to project Historia for latin@ archival).  It was a fun and enlightening experience for everyone, and we made the facilitating woman laugh several times with our story.  I’ve wanted to get down our family history for a long time now (it’s an AMAZING story- ask me for details in person and i’ll go on for hours), and this was a great way for me to get started!

Thirdly, and most scarily- I have an audition tomorrow.  Tani and I signed up for this talent search at the mall a while back, and they finally contacted us.  There’s a mass audition in front of Macy’s tomorrow and we were told to dress presentably.  Tani’s going in more for print ads, but me- I’m gunning for TV ads and music videos.  As soon as I put down the phone I was giddy and excited and jumpy.  It’s been so long since I’ve auditioned for anything!

Well, that’s all the time I’ve got for now.  I’ll let you know how all of it turns out, of course.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

